Blenheim-Gilboa Visitors Complex Exceeds 40,000 Attendance in 2004
January 4, 2005
The site, which includes the visitors center and the adjacent Lansing Manor house, is located on the side of a picturesque valley, overlooking the Blenheim-Gilboa power house and the project’s lower reservoir.
The visitor center itself is housed in a fully-restored 19th century dairy barn. It is loaded with interactive exhibits on electric generation and numerous displays highlighting environmental and geographical features of the area. The center is admission-free and open daily except Christmas and New Years Day.
Lansing Manor is a classic example of Federalist period architecture. It was built by John Ten Eyck Lansing – a major figure in New York State politics and government before, during and after the American Revolution -- as a wedding gift to his daughter Frances and her husband Jacob Sutherland. The Sutherlands moved into the house in 1819.
When the Power Authority purchased the site for construction of the Blenheim-Gilboa project in the 1960s it made a commitment to restore the Manor House in a way that reflected its occupants over the years. Another major restoration effort was completed several years ago. The house is operated by the Power Authority in cooperation with the Schoharie County Historical Society and is open from late Spring to early Autumn.
Numerous people also visit the site for events such as the annual Wildlife Festival, car shows, seasonal activities such as pictures with Santa, and others.
Since dedication ceremonies in 1974 more than 1.25 million visitors have come to the center.
The Power Authority’s visitors center is located on Route 30, 17 miles south of Middleburgh and 5 miles north of Grand Gorge. The complex is about 50 miles southwest of Albany.