Blenheim-Gilboa Visitors Complex Exceeds 40,000 Attendance in 2004
January 4, 2005
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
NORTH BLENHEIM – Figures compiled here show that the
New York Power Authority’s Blenheim-Gilboa Pumped Storage Power Project
visitors center continued to be a major attraction in southern Schoharie
County, drawing 40,042 people in 2004.
The site, which includes the visitors center and the
adjacent Lansing Manor house, is located on the side of a picturesque
valley, overlooking the Blenheim-Gilboa power house and the project’s
The visitor center itself is housed in a
fully-restored 19th century dairy barn. It is loaded with interactive
exhibits on electric generation and numerous displays highlighting
environmental and geographical features of the area. The center is
admission-free and open daily except Christmas and New Years Day.
Lansing Manor is a classic example of Federalist
period architecture. It was built by John Ten Eyck Lansing – a major
figure in New York State politics and government before, during and
after the American Revolution -- as a wedding gift to his daughter
Frances and her husband Jacob Sutherland. The Sutherlands moved into the
house in 1819.
When the Power Authority purchased the site for
construction of the Blenheim-Gilboa project in the 1960s it made a
commitment to restore the Manor House in a way that reflected its
occupants over the years. Another major restoration effort was completed
several years ago. The house is operated by the Power Authority in
cooperation with the Schoharie County Historical Society and is open
from late Spring to early Autumn.
Numerous people also visit the site for events such
as the annual Wildlife Festival, car shows, seasonal activities such as
pictures with Santa, and others.
Since dedication ceremonies in 1974 more than 1.25
million visitors have come to the center.
The Power Authority’s visitors center is located on
Route 30, 17 miles south of Middleburgh and 5 miles north of Grand
Gorge. The complex is about 50 miles southwest of Albany.